"Grant Baylor Wins Little Brown Jug National Enduro

Union, SC – Factory FMF/KTM rider Grant Baylor took his first-career AMA National Enduro win near his hometown at the ninth round of the series in the most notable race so far this season.

National Enduro fans were excited to see who would come out on top at this race as previously injured riders had returned to racing and an entire new team showed up to compete at this round to make it the most stacked field to date. One of the new additions to the competition was Baylor’s GNCC teammate Kailub Russell.


In fact, it was Russell who earned the first special test win. The GNCC rider seemed right at home in the tight woods and was a contender for the win throughout the majority of the race. Baylor also got off to a strong start turning the second fastest time in the first section.


The two FMF/KTM teammates remained in top position throughout the next few tests as the riders were challenged to move around lappers in the thick dust. At the end of the fourth section, Baylor had moved into the overall lead. Once in the lead position, he never lost it. Baylor took the test win in the fifth section and ended the sixth with a great time to earn his first overall victory in the series.


“It is an amazing feeling to get this win,” stated Baylor. “I have been close a few times this season and was really hoping to pull one off before the end of the series. I am very grateful to my team for helping me get to this point.”


Russell, who was in podium position heading into the final test, had a couple issues in the long and tight final section. He clipped a few trees which lost him some time, and unfortunately, dropped him to 4th for the day, just a step off the podium.


“We are very proud of Grant (Baylor) for earning his first win,” stated Factory FMF/KTM Team Manager Antti Kallonen. “We were also very excited to have Kailub (Russell) return to the series. This is his first time back to the series in two years and we are happy with his top five performance.”


Factory FMF/KTM rider and 8-time National Enduro Champion, Mike Lafferty finished the race inside the top ten with a 9th place result. His teammates, Charlie Mullins and Steward Baylor, were sidelined at this event still recovering from injury.


Next Event: September 14, 2014 – Matthews, IN


Overall Results –

  1. Grant Baylor – KTM
  2. Josh Strang
  3. Andrew DeLong
  4. Kailub Russell – KTM
  5. Jesse Groemm – KTM
  6. Russell Bobbitt
  7. Brad Bakken
  8. Jordan Ashburn
  9. Mike Lafferty – KTM

10. Trevor Bollinger


Overall Point Standings –

  1. Andrew Delong – 191
  2. Jesse Groemm – 169
  3. Grant Baylor – 162


All information provided by National Enduro Promotions Group NEPG
August 31, 2014

GERA Officers

Phil Ellis

Vice President:
Larry Griffin

Secretary / Treasurer:
Christopher Poole

Trail Boss:
Al Young

Junior Enduros:
Heath Henderson

Web Site Administrator:
Christopher Poole